Upcoming Events

About Us

Basketball Federation of India or BFI is the governing and controlling body of basketball in India, and is responsible for the development and promotion of the sport at all levels. Towards this end, the BFI undertakes three major initiatives: (1) Developing and organizing the National Teams (Senior, U18, U16, U14), (2) Conducting National Championships and Federation Cups as platforms for scouting and talent identification, and (3) Developing the sport from grassroots upwards through, inter alia, the conduct of coaching certification courses in collaboration with the international basketball association i.e. FIBA and organising the Indian School & College Basketball leagues. Shri K Govindraj is the current President of the BFI, with Shri Chander Mukhi Sharma as the Secretary-General. The full list of office bearers is as follows: President: K Govindraj. Senior vice-president: Teja Singh Dhaliwal. Vice-presidents: Ajay Sud, Dr DR Saini, Shafiq Shaikh, Bhupendra Shahi, L Suren. Secretary-general: Chander Mukhi Sharma. Associate secretaries: Shakti Singh Gohil, Jugraj Singh, Fr Ralin De Souza, T Chengalraya Naidu. Treasurer: V Raghothaman. Executive committee: Munish Sharma, Ashely Do Rosario, TA Andrapathi, TVSN Prasad, Norman Isac, Dr Prakash Paquiray Sandou.