Geethu Anna Rahul: "I want to be a role model for other youngsters."
John Wooden: “It isn't what you do, but how you do it.”
Vishesh Bhriguvanshi: “I never imagined I’ll be leading the national team.”
Pratham Singh: “My teammates are like my family.”

Generally 16 teams from Asia participate in this championship and are divided into four groups of 4 teams each. Preliminary round league matches are conducted within each level and the top three teams from each group move into the second round. The bottom four teams play classification games for 13-16 positions.

In the second round, the 12 teams are divided into two groups (E and F) of 6 teams each. Here, each team will play against the three (3) new teams in its group. The top four (4) teams from each group advance to the Quarter-Finals. Others play Classification Games 9-12.

The tournament is then played in a knockout format from the Quarter-Finals onwards. Classifications matches are also held for positions 3-8, for teams that get eliminated at different stages of the knockout rounds.

As per the 2015 iteration, the top three teams from the Championship qualify for the FIBA World U-17 Championship.


Tournament history

4 editions of this biennial championship have been held so far, dating back to 2009. China has won three editions, followed by South Korea (1 gold, 2 silver), Chinese Taipei (1 silver), Philippines (1 silver) and Japan (2 bronze).

India has participated in all four editions. The side finished 10th in 2009 and 2011, and 11th in 2013 and 13th in 2015. As of 12th November 2015, the Indian team is currently ranked 51 in the world.


Follow us on Instagram

See all photos

Meet the Teams

The Indian national basketball teams comprise Senior, U19 (Junior), U16 (Youth) and U13 squads in both genders. Read more...

Contact Us

Basketball Federation of India,
No. 14 Sagar Apartment,
6 Tilak Marg,
Opposite Tilak Marg Police Station,
New Delhi 110001.

Phone 011-23071223 ext. 119

© 2017 Basketball Federation of India   |  Joomla Templates by