Geethu Anna Rahul: "I want to be a role model for other youngsters."
John Wooden: “It isn't what you do, but how you do it.”
Vishesh Bhriguvanshi: “I never imagined I’ll be leading the national team.”
Pratham Singh: “My teammates are like my family.”

Championship Format

The FIBA Asia Cup 2017 was played in Lebanon from 8-20 August 2017. For the first time, the tournament featured Oceanian powerhouses Australia and New Zealand, as sixteen teams battled for top honours in Asia.

India was in Group A, along with Jordan, Syria, and three-time Asian champions Iran. The remaining groups comprised the following teams: Iraq, China, Philippines, and Qatar (Group B); Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Korea, and New Zealand (Group C); and Japan, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, and Australia (Group D).

The top three teams from each group advanced to the second phase, where they were divided into two groups of six teams each (Groups E and F). The top four teams from each of those groups advanced to the quarterfinals.


Official tournament website:











Follow us on Instagram

See all photos

Meet the Teams

The Indian national basketball teams comprise Senior, U19 (Junior), U16 (Youth) and U13 squads in both genders. Read more...

Contact Us

Basketball Federation of India,
No. 14 Sagar Apartment,
6 Tilak Marg,
Opposite Tilak Marg Police Station,
New Delhi 110001.

Phone 011-23071223 ext. 119

© 2018 Basketball Federation of India   |  Joomla Templates by