Geethu Anna Rahul: "I want to be a role model for other youngsters."
John Wooden: “It isn't what you do, but how you do it.”
Vishesh Bhriguvanshi: “I never imagined I’ll be leading the national team.”
Pratham Singh: “My teammates are like my family.”

About the tournament

India was in Group A, along with Jordan, Syria, and three-time Asian champions Iran. The remaining groups comprised of the following teams: Iraq, China, Philippines, and Qatar (Group B); Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Korea, and New Zealand (Group C); and Japan, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, and Australia (Group D).

The top three teams from each group advanced to the second phase, where they were divided into two groups of six teams each (Groups E and F). The top four teams from each of those groups advanced to the quarterfinals.

New-comers Australia defeated Asian powerhouse Iran in the finals to be crowned champions of Asia on their debut. South Korea secured the third spot on the podium.

Hamed Haddadi of Iran was declared the MVP of the tournament.

India failed to qualify for the knockout stages due to three consecutive defeats in the group stage.  

Official tournament website:




Day 1 (9th August 2017)

Iran (Hamed Hadadi 20 pts; Mohammad Jamshidijafarabadi 18 pts; Sajjad Mashayekhi 16 pts) bt India (Amjyot Singh Gill 10 pts; Talwinderjit Singh 9 pts) 101 – 54 [29-8, 21 – 14, 29 – 17, 22 – 15]


Day 2 (11th August 2017)

Jordan (Mousa Alawadi 22 pts; Mah’d Abdeen 14 pts; Ahmad Alhamarsheh 13 rebs) bt India (Amjyot Singh Gill 17pts; Muin Bek Hafeez 10pts; Aravind Annadurai 10 rebs) 61–54 [15 – 14, 11 – 9, 18 – 14, 17 – 17]


Day 3 (13th August 2017)

Syria (Ivan Todorovic 23 pts, 14 rebs; Micheal Madanly 18 pts; Tarek Aljabi 18 pts) bt India (Aravind Annadurai 20 pts; Amritpal Singh 17 pts, 13 rebs; Amjyot Singh Gill 17 pts) 87–78 [17 – 25, 18 – 26, 25 – 17, 27 – 10]

















Follow us on Instagram

See all photos

Meet the Teams

The Indian national basketball teams comprise Senior, U19 (Junior), U16 (Youth) and U13 squads in both genders. Read more...

Contact Us

Basketball Federation of India,
No. 14 Sagar Apartment,
6 Tilak Marg,
Opposite Tilak Marg Police Station,
New Delhi 110001.

Phone 011-23071223 ext. 119

© 2018 Basketball Federation of India   |  Joomla Templates by